The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly - Stephanie Oaks | ARC Review

11:22 AM

Pages: 400 Paperback
Publication date: June 9th, 2015
Publisher: Dial/Penguin Canada
How I got the copy: Received from Penguin Random House Canada
Rating:  4/5
Series: N/A

Summary:

With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.




Review:


From the ARC copy I received the back summary was different to where I had no idea I was going to be reading about a girl with no hands.  It was a nice surprise, a different type of problem a character faces in YA books.

We follow Minnow Bly and her journey to discovering the truth about the world, religion and self. Minnow was taken to live in a cult community in the middle of the woods on top of a mountain by her parents at the age of six. Now twelve years later we read about her struggles of always questioning what the prophet of the community is preaching.

Minnow is found covered in blood at the edge of the woods and civilization with a nearly dead boy at her feet when police find her. From there, the rest of the story is set in juvie and Minnow remembering her life back at the community.


This story is different from the typical YA story and I really enjoyed it. We get to struggle with Minnow trying to figure out how to learn to be normal, how to learn to read, write and the truth about the world.

I would recommend this to readers who enjoy YA contemporary and looking for something out of the ordinary with some mystery.

Rating: 


Thanks for reading, 
Alexa Talks Books

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Contact Form

Name

Email *

Message *

Reading Challenges

2017 Reading Challenge

Alexa has read 5 books toward her goal of 75 books.
hide

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Alexa has read 2 books toward her goal of 50 books.
hide

Badges

Professional Reader10 Book Reviews