What to Say Next - Julie Buxbaum | Book Review


Book Details:
Pages: 292
Format: Hardcopy
Publication: Delacorte Press (Penguin Random House Canada)

Release Date: July 11, 2017
How I got the copy: Publisher
Rating: 4/5 


Summary:
From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?





*A copy of this book was provided to me by Penguin Random House Canada for the exchange of an honest review*

Review:
What to Say Next is a great dual perspective novel that covers depression, friendship, relationships and is a well-written autism representation. I'm a huge fan of dual perspective novels. I love that I can read one book from multiple perspectives and get that "insider" knowledge.

It follows Kit a fairly popular girl and David the school loner who also has a form of mild autism. When Kit's father dies in a tragic car accident she needs to step away from her friends and accidentally discovers David is the perfect type of person she needs to cope with her grief. Someone who will tell her how it is and doesn't completely feel sorry for her every second they're around her.

An unexpected interest grows between the two and they both struggle to deal with the issues that come with it like no one else understands why Kit is hanging out with David and leaving her other friends behind and David struggles with interacting with sensitivity and compassion. On top of those issues, Kit's still grieving her father and David is the only person who can make her feel better.

Not only does this book focus on Kit's grief and her new friendship with David but it also focuses on Kit's relationship with her mother and some secrets Kit discovers in her father's office. Oh! Also, the main character is half white and half Indian but there isn't much about her Indian side but how the story is written it makes sense why there isn't much about her Indian side. At first, I had no idea the main character was Indian but once you read a few chapter it explains her ethnicity.

What to Say Next is a great book and I definitely recommend!

Rating:

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.